frontdoorbeauty

You can’t pour from an empty cup. 

Awhile ago, I remember reading this online, and it really hit me. I’m so busy making sure everyone around me is happy and cared for, that I was starting to put myself on the back burner in certain aspects. Lucky for me, I now have a guy that always tries to give me the amount of care and effort that I give him. It’s a nice change of pace, and something I’ve really been looking for my entire life. 

Now obviously, self care is equally important. I’m learning as I get older, at the end of the day, I need to make myself happy. 

Mentally happy, in the sense that If something I do upsets you, talk to me about it, more than likely I’ll apologize, but I’m not going to bend over backwards for people because they feel entitled to me. I’m sick of feeling like I need to walk on eggshells in my own life. Like how pathetic. It’s MY life. I’m not here to make your life enjoyable and mine a nightmare. I’m done being talked down to. I’m done being talked badly about. I’ve started not only confronting people when I hear wrong things about myself, but calling people out on their words and actions that they express towards me. If you want to be a nasty and hateful person, please take yourself else where

And physically happy in the sense that i work on my feet 40+ hours a week and keep the house running and in order. With that being said, I’ve been getting manicures a couple times a month. It’s something I enjoy, and I work hard so I deserve to treat myself. Also bubble baths. One of my guilty pleasures. Atleast once a week as of late. There calming and they help me unwind. 


And lastly my health. I need to be happy with my health. This week I started tracking what I eat and really counting those calories. I haven’t gotten weighed and I don’t plan to. I did take embarassing before photos that I’m sure you guys will get the pleasure of viewing one day when I have something to compare it to. I plan to give myself a cheat meal or two a week. Not doing anything crazy. Keeping it realistic so I can stick to it. 

What do you do to take care of yourself?

Shut the front door 

Xoxo, Jess

Leave a comment